Label Reading: One thing to remember is that gluten free means no wheat gluten, wheat, barley, or rye. The ingredients list should say at the end, "Contains: wheat, milk, soy, nuts" or some combination of allergens in bold. Let your eye go to this to start. If this isn't there, curse the brand name for not following the law, then read all of the individual ingredients. Watch for hidden gluten in malt (usually barley).
- Buy it--Cereal in your normal cereal aisle:
- Avoid it-- There are several organic cereals that you might find in a specialty aisle labeled gluten free. They are gross. Don't waste your time when you're starting out or you will just be depressed.
- Milk is gluten free, but people who have a hard time digesting gluten are often lactose intolerant. I put Lactaid milk or vanilla soy milk on my cereal and in my coffee.
- Coffee is gluten free-- go nuts! Watch out for weird flavored creamers, but they are usually fine.
- Latte fans should watch the extra fillers. I avoid Starbucks mochas, but the white mochas (syrup) are okay. Again, nix the regular milk.
- Sometimes a Saturday morning requires something more exciting than more Rice Chex. Go for the pancakes! Pamela's Pancake Mix is insanely great. Just add water, an egg, and oil, and you've got pancakes for two. Recipes for waffles, muffins, crepes included.
- Udis gluten free bread is wonderful toasted! I store mine in the fridge and it will last a month or two. I actually prefer the kind in the green bag, which is more of a whole grain bread. Butter and jam are safe!
- Celiacs are traditionally told not to eat oats. Recently, we decided it was that they were processed in a way that could include wheat, but that celiacs might not actually be intolerant to pure oats. Bob's Red Mill carries oats that are specifically labeled gluten free. I'll use these to make my oatmeal.
Stay tuned for my notes on other meals at home, simple pantry substitutes, what to drink, and what to do at restaurants.